Mischief Managed *taps wand*


The Mind Has Its Moments
[Friday, Jul. 25, 2003 | 2:55 pm]


When I was around twelve or thirteen years old it seems, I remember my dad taking me and my sister somewhere. I don't remember the details, but on the way, it occurred to me that I could predict what vehicle we would next meet on the road. I knew I could do it. I felt it. I couldn't tell the year or model of the vehicle, but I could tell the color and what kind it was.

For example, I would say, "Red truck," and soon a red truck would pass us. I did this for at least ten or twelve vehicles. I don't remember them all, but I actually correctly predicted an eighteen-wheeler with a black cab! I felt such elation at what was happening and my sister was more than impressed.

After the dozen or so vehicles, I felt the ability wearing off. I actually said out loud that I didn't feel like I could do it any more. I tried a few more times, but I knew it had passed - I got no more right and didn't expect to. It was nice while it lasted.

I wonder if that was a flash of what the evolution of the mind has in store for us. Perhaps telepathy and telekenesis will also be common abilities in the future - ones that we couldn't imagine having ever lived without.

Sad that I won't live to discover this.


Oh, and we were gone...Kings of Oblivion. We were so turned on, in the Mind-Warp Pavilion --David Bowie, Hunky Dory "The Bewlay Brothers" (1971)

(can't alter your past) - (can't escape your destiny)



About This Journal

Current Entry

Previous Entry

Next Entry

Archive/Rings/Links

Profile

Notes

Guestbook

E-mail

Dream Capture

Diaryland


Recent Entries

Dreamworld/Deathworld


Unbidden Knowledge


Overshadowed


Earth's Core = Hell?


Planning to Revisit Some Old Haunts



Solar X-rays:

Geomagnetic Field:
Status
Status

From n3kl.org



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License
.
| Free DHTML scripts provided
| by DynamicDrive.com