Mischief Managed *taps wand*


Creating Reality: A Terrible Aspect
[Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003 | 2:39 am]


This is a story I've already told many friends, but I'd like my new readers to know it too. I hope it does not disturb you too much - though it was unintentional, I still feel I was ultimately responsible for this evil. As you read, you'll see what I mean.


One morning about six years ago, as I washed my hair before leaving for college, I was thinking to myself how boring life had become. Day after day, the same routine. I thought to myself that I needed something to "break up" the day. I even remember my train of thought. It went like this:

A wreck.

But it has to happen where I can see it, else, what's the point?

In front of College Curb (a convenience store/gameroom right across the street from the building where my classes were).

And it has to happen during the school day, else, again, what's the point?

Now, what would make a good wreck? An eighteen-wheeler and a car! Yeah, that'd be a good wreck.

An eighteen-wheeler and a car in front of College Curb sometime in the middle of the day.

And so it was set.

As soon as I finished washing my hair and turned the water off, those thoughts were gone. Pointless "head-ramblings" of the morning.

During that same day, I met up with my cousin after class. We usually spent our free time together when we could. She had to go to the library on campus so I went with her. I sat with her as she used the library computer to find a list of books she needed. When she got up to locate the books, I sat down at the computer.

Just for something to do while I waited for her, I started looking up books with Satanic themes - just for the Hell of it, so to speak. I typed "witchcraft" and read the results. I did the same with the keywords "black magic" and "demon". Then I thought of another keyword. I typed "devil". Immediately after I hit "enter", as if hitting "enter" had caused it, the power went out. It startled me because of the peculiar timing. I leaned back and muttered to myself, "Heh...cool." "Cool" just for the way it happened.

The librarians had to clear the library, so we left. We hung around outside until I had my next class, thinking all the while that it was just the library that lost power.

When I got to my next class, everyone was talking about the power outtage. Listening to them, I discovered that more than half the campus had lost power. It made sense, but still it seemed strange. I sat down. More people started talking about the loss of power and I heard that it had been out in half the town as well.

Then someone finally said that it was a wreck that had caused the outtage. I hadn't said a word at this point. I just listened to everyone. Someone said an eighteen-wheeler had hit head on with a car just down from College Curb.

Class hadn't started yet; I jumped up from my seat and nearly ran out of the room, out of the building, to College Curb.

From there, I could see clearly down the hill where long logs were still lying in the road and a power pole was uprooted! I couldn't believe it! Here was my wreck - the eighteen-wheeler and a car. I hadn't specified what kind of eighteen-wheeler so a log-truck was "acceptable", if I may put it that way.

The only difference was that instead of the wreck being in front of College Curb, it was just down the hill from it.

Then it hit me...

The power was most likely cut on impact. A dreadful feeling came over me as it all came together in my mind: I typed "devil", pressed "enter", WHAM! It had to be that way.

It was too much of a coincidence for me, and I feel to this day that I somehow caused this wreck! I had constructed it in my mind that very morning! All I could think was that this was my doing! I couldn't help but think it.

I never learned if anyone died or was critically injured. I didn't want to know. I was already shaken enough. Was this my fault? Did someone possibly die because I was bored and let my mind create something terrible to amuse it, or at least to alleviate boredom? I'll never know, dear readers.


We had a friend, a talking man, who spoke of many powers he had... --David Bowie, Space Oddity "The Cygnet Committee" (1969)

(can't alter your past) - (can't escape your destiny)



About This Journal

Current Entry

Previous Entry

Next Entry

Archive/Rings/Links

Profile

Notes

Guestbook

E-mail

Dream Capture

Diaryland


Recent Entries

Dreamworld/Deathworld


Unbidden Knowledge


Overshadowed


Earth's Core = Hell?


Planning to Revisit Some Old Haunts



Solar X-rays:

Geomagnetic Field:
Status
Status

From n3kl.org



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License
.
| Free DHTML scripts provided
| by DynamicDrive.com