Mischief Managed *taps wand*


Head Radio
[Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2003 | 9:17 am]


When I was probably ten or eleven years old, my mother told me that when she was younger she would hear music when there was none. She would look for a radio, but the music was in her head the whole time. Now, I don't remember if she said that she had also made music play in her head before, but I decided to experiment with hearing music when no music was playing.

I found a quiet room - bathrooms are good places - and picked a song to hear. At the time, Starship's "We Built This City" was playing a lot so I chose that one. I sat and concentrated on hearing it as close to the way it actually sounded as possible. It would fade out from time to time, but I finally got it!

I could hear it! It was coming through loud and clear. No radio, no tv. It felt so cool. It was like listening to a radio!

Then I couldn't make it stop! I panicked. I thought I'd be stuck hearing the song forever. I just couldn't make it go away. For a while, a short while, I felt like I'd go mad. Of course, it wore off when I was around other sounds again, but it had me scared.

Since then, I have done it several more times. I would do it more often, but it's hard to find time, peace, and quiet all at the same...time. The last couple times I did it, I tried to figure out how I was doing it. The only thing I noticed was that I felt a slight tension in my head just above my right ear, like it was being pulled on from the inside. So I mentally tried "pulling" harder. And I may be crazy, but the music actually sounded clearer, like I was tuning in to a slightly stronger signal.

You should try it if you get a chance. Just don't freak out if you can't turn your head's radio off when you want. You'll return to normal... eventually.


Invisible airwaves crackle with life, bright antenna bristle with the energy. Emotional feedback on timeless wavelength, bearing a gift beyond price, almost free --Rush, Permanent Waves "The Spirit of Radio" (1980)

(can't alter your past) - (can't escape your destiny)



About This Journal

Current Entry

Previous Entry

Next Entry

Archive/Rings/Links

Profile

Notes

Guestbook

E-mail

Dream Capture

Diaryland


Recent Entries

Dreamworld/Deathworld


Unbidden Knowledge


Overshadowed


Earth's Core = Hell?


Planning to Revisit Some Old Haunts



Solar X-rays:

Geomagnetic Field:
Status
Status

From n3kl.org



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License
.
| Free DHTML scripts provided
| by DynamicDrive.com