Mischief Managed *taps wand*


My Subconscious Doesn't Like to Lose
[Friday, Feb. 17, 2006 | 1:39 pm]


It's hard for me to decide how I should describe things in this entry, so I'm just going to write it as it comes. First, though, I should mention that this entry has everything to do with this one: Of Two Minds.

Two nights ago, I had a dream in which I became very lucid. After failure to gain any control, I sought out the dream character representing my subconscious.

Now, two quick points:

The way it seems to work with me is that if I'm having a normal dream (not lucid), there's no need for my subconscious to be directly, or "physically," involved in the dream. But, if I'm lucid, there always someone hanging around trying to throw me off, someone who stands out and seems to know more than the other dream characters. It's that one that I see as representing my subconscious.

Also, I totally understand that one could argue that whatever that character says are words that I've put into its mouth, so on some level I'm actually talking to myself. It could also be argued that I only found someone to represent my subconscious because I actually was in control of the dream and wanted to find him (it is usually a male). But lets not get that deep today. :)

I found him in a bar. He was thin, a bit pale, and had long reddish-blond hair. I told him that I wanted to bring a certain character into the dream. He told me that I wasn't allowed to ever bring that certain character into my dreams.

Rather than argue, we took a walk around town. I pointed out details in signs over stores and expressed my appreciation of such things. Then, I remembered about the bargain I've been wanting to make for over a year. I don't remember my exact words, but as we walked (he was to my left), I told him that surely we could both benefit somehow from my having control when I become lucid, that maybe we could both take pleasure from the experience. I don't recall him saying anything back to me at that point.

We went back to the bar. He told me that if I did what he said, he'd let me have control. I agreed. He sent me up the block to a store. When I stepped back outside, it was sunny. It had been cloudy before. (I love overcast skies.) Though he stayed in the bar, we could still talk to each other. I said something like, "You could at least make it cloudy again." And clouds immediately covered the sun to make the sky as it was before.

I went into the store, and he instructed me to "Smoke a Jefferson." Then, I saw the rack of large black cigarette cases. Each one had a name, in large white capital letters, of historical figures � presidents, inventors, etc. I found a case marked "JEFFERSON," picked it up, but as I was about to open it to retrieve a cigarette, I had a strong feeling that I was being played for a fool. I realized that this was nonsense. It was all about him, my subconscious, maintaining control. After that, I woke up.

I'll end this here. If I get into trying to analyze this, I'll start going in circles. I still feel that it's progress since it was the first time I'd ever had a conversation with someone who was meant to represent my subconscious. I'll take that for now.

(can't alter your past) - (can't escape your destiny)



About This Journal

Current Entry

Previous Entry

Next Entry

Archive/Rings/Links

Profile

Notes

Guestbook

E-mail

Dream Capture

Diaryland


Recent Entries

Dreamworld/Deathworld


Unbidden Knowledge


Overshadowed


Earth's Core = Hell?


Planning to Revisit Some Old Haunts



Solar X-rays:

Geomagnetic Field:
Status
Status

From n3kl.org



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License
.
| Free DHTML scripts provided
| by DynamicDrive.com