Mischief Managed *taps wand*


-Atheist- is Just the Label
[Thursday, Oct. 30, 2003 | 11:26 pm]


I never chose to not believe in God, I simply can't. My mind won't let me. Why can't I believe?

That millions do believe is not enough for me - not nearly enough. I can't know that kind of faith. It's as if something within me "knows better" than to believe in such a thing, and is, perhaps, beyond needing to.

---

I do not believe in the creed professed by the Jewish church, by the Roman church, by the Greek church, by the Protestant church, nor by any church that I know of. My own mind is my church. -- Thomas Paine (The Age of Reason)

---

Am I, in any way, a lesser being for not being able to believe in a supposedly omnipresent and omniscient entity that is never seen, heard, nor felt?

I could never think so.

I feel that I am true to myself. And sure, I feel that we all would be better off without religion, but I would never proselytize anyone to atheism. I detest proselytism!

---

Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction. -- Blaise Pascal (Pensees, 1670)

---

Think of the holy wars, the prejudice, and the superstition. Murder, hate, and fear in the name of all that is righteous. To say it frustrates me is an understatement.

Of course I realize there is so much more to religion, positive things. Can't these positives be a natural part of your character? Shouldn't they? Do you have to have a religion to do good and to be good? Shouldn't the faith be placed in yourself and not God? Can't you believe in yourself without labeling your personal gifts as "God-given"?

Will I have a totally different mindset on the subject in another 30-40 years? It bothers me that the older people get, the more the need for religion overtakes them. I hope I never find myself so lost.


Religion is a disease. It is born of fear; it compensates through hate in the guise of authority, revelation. Religion, enthroned in a powerful social organization, can become incredibly sadistic. No religion has been more cruel than the Christian. -- Dr. George A. Dorsey

(can't alter your past) - (can't escape your destiny)



About This Journal

Current Entry

Previous Entry

Next Entry

Archive/Rings/Links

Profile

Notes

Guestbook

E-mail

Dream Capture

Diaryland


Recent Entries

Dreamworld/Deathworld


Unbidden Knowledge


Overshadowed


Earth's Core = Hell?


Planning to Revisit Some Old Haunts



Solar X-rays:

Geomagnetic Field:
Status
Status

From n3kl.org



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License
.
| Free DHTML scripts provided
| by DynamicDrive.com